Facelift, CF2 models: rocker switches in panel to one side of inset dash panel.

HELP!! wiring disaster

Post by tajmall » Subscribing Member » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:22 pm
After lots of help from Phil have discovered that the engine on my MH is a replacement and unfortunately whoever has done the replacement has made a right mess of the wiring !! For starters - the oil pressure switch is not connected at engine end - haven't found out yet if anything at dashboard end. Can anyone advise on what I need to do to sort this? Or can recommend anyone in the NE of England who is experienced in Bedford CF's because I think I am gonna need professional help !!! It's now GM diesel 2.3 engine.

Also if you look to the right of the pipe outlet there is another connector with a loose wire nearby and I've got no idea what it is for. I have no knowledge of anything to do with wiring and although my brother is helping on the mechanical side of things he doesn't know about the electrical. Must admit I am beginning to think I have bitten off more than I can chew but I'm stubborn and really would like to get this baby going again :-) Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: HELP!! wiring disaster

Post by Phil Bradshaw » Club admin » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:26 pm
Look for a round body 10-pin connector plug and socket in the wiring harness under the bonnet, above the engine. Connector may have a rubber sleeve over the plug and socket junction.

This is the connector for the engine wiring on CF2 models; the harness to the left side of the engine (right side when viewed from under the bonnet) should contain a white+brown wire for the oil pressure switch.

Remove cab engine cover for access to the engine.

If the white+brown wire isn't visible where the wires to the alternator (brown+yellow), starter solenoid (white+red) and fuel shut off solenoid (white) emerge from the end of the harness to the left side of the engine then peel back the harness tape until you find it.